Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects








Our structure

Governance of the Institute is undertaken by the NZIA Council, led by an elected President, which meets four times a year.

In its decision making, the Council is guided by a set of rules that define objectives and help decide matters of importance. The Council’s composition is determined by election, with Institute members in each of the eight branches voting for a regional representative. The three schools of architecture and the New Zealand Registered Architects Board are also represented.


undefinedTim Melville, BArch FNZIA Registered Architect 

Tim began his career at a small Auckland practice before venturing overseas and gaining further experience with ORMS Architects in London. On his return to New Zealand Tim was a Senior Architect with Jasmax until 1999 when he founded RTA Studio with Richard Naish. He has been a Principal at Warren and Mahoney since 2012.

A specialist in design development and delivery, Tim has an in-depth knowledge of documentation methodologies and technical systems, coupled with extensive site and contract management experience. He is a strong communicator and an accomplished team leader who believes that effective collaboration is at the crux of better design outcomes. Tim’s sector experience includes education, commercial, community, mixed use and multi-unit residential.

Tim has been an assessor for the New Zealand Registered Architects Board for over ten years, has served two terms as Auckland Councillor on the New Zealand Institute of Architects National Council, and will assume the role of NZIA President in 2018.


Current NZIA Council

PresidentTim Melville
President Elect: Judi Keith-Brown
Immediate Past PresidentChristina van Bohemen
Auckland CouncillorRachel Venables
Gisborne/Hawkes Bay CouncillorEzra Kelly
Waikato/Bay of Plenty CouncillorJason Benton
Western CouncillorCaroline Tyrell
Wellington CouncillorBelinda Tuohy
Nelson/Marlborough CouncillorRachel Dodd
Canterbury CouncillorJoseph Hampton
Southern CouncillorAndrea Bell
Co-Opted Graduate RepresentativeRenée Williamson
Co-Opted Ngā Aho Representative: Whare Timu
Co-Opted Councillor: Courtney Kitchen

Policies set by Council fit broadly into the following areas: practice support, membership services and professional development. Members assist with work in these areas to ensure that all members are kept up to date with developments and services. The network of eight branches throughout the country provides a place for local membership services and activities and a connection with local communities. They also help members stay connected with current issues and provide local support to the profession. Each Branch has a committee, led by a Chairperson elected from the local membership.

Current Branch Chairs

Auckland: Ken Crosson
Waikato/Bay of Plenty: Roger Dowling
Gisborne/Hawkes Bay: Hilary Finn
Western: Darren Shadbolt
Wellington: Angela Foster
Nelson/Marlborough: Anna Wallace
Canterbury: Mike Callaghan
Southern: Chris Norman