Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects








2021 Resene Student Design Awards

Myint San Aung from Te Whare Wānanga o Wairaka Unitec School of Architecture won the annual design competition for final-year students from New Zealand's three schools of architecture with his project 'ပစ်တိုင်းတောင် (Pyit-Taing-Htaung, Every time you toss it, it stands up)'.

Two highly commended awards were also conferred at this year’s awards – Cindy Huang from Waipapa Taumata Rau, The University of Auckland School of Architecture and Planning, and Alice Reade from Te Herenga Waka Victoria University of Wellington School of Architecture. The 2021 judges were Te Kāhui Whaihanga President Judi Keith-Brown, architect Vajini Pannila, and designer and researcher Matt Ritani, our Ngā Aho representative.

The Te Kāhui Whaihanga 2021 Student Design Awards are kindly presented by Resene, a locally owned and operated business, and a loyal supporter of New Zealand architecture.

Awards presentation video