Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects









Entries are open! 2024 Warren Trust Awards for Architectural Writing  

The building told a story... is the prompt to kickstart your creative journey in this much-loved literary competition.

Free to enter, all ages are invited to make the most of this annual opportunity to engage with architecture in inventive, meaningful and compelling literary ways. Entries may take the form of original fiction, non-fiction, comic or poem. 

‏Following the award winners’ announcement in August, we will invite the creative community to illustrate the winning entries, all of which will be published online and in print.‏


Entries will be judged within the following categories:
‏• Tamariki up to 13 years, writing up to 800 words
‏• Rangatahi 14-18 years, writing up to 1000 words
‏• Open 18-plus years, writing up to 1500 words


Tamariki $500 
Rangatahi $1000 
Open $2000 
Highly commended (three prizes across all categories) $200 book voucher 

‏Key dates
Entries open: Thursday 30 May
Entries close: Friday 26 July at midnight
‏Winners announced: Friday 16 August


‏To enter
View Conditions of Entry and enter here.
To spread the word about the competition, download the A4 poster here (PDF).
Winning entries may be published in external media outlets. To read previous years’ winners, click here.


‏Our judges
This year’s competition will be judged by an outstandingly talented panel that includes Jeremy Hansen, journalist, author, architecture podcaster, literary mentor and the guy who puts the art into Britomart; Danyl McLauchlan, author, book reviewer and political commentator; and Katie Braatvedt, an architecture graduate at Glamuzina Architects, teacher at AUT School of Future Environments and occasional contributor to Island magazine – in last year's Warren Trust Writing Awards, Katie won Highly Commended for ‘This is Not a Gender Issue’.  


‏About the awards
The Warren Trust Awards for Architectural Writing is a joint venture between The Warren Trust and Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects. The Warren Trust is a charitable organisation established in honour of celebrated architect Sir Miles Warren, which promotes architectural education to the profession and public.


‏For any related enquiries, please contact:
‏Jo Bates
021 382 698