Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects











NZ Architecture Awards shortlist announced

04 August 2017

Fifty-one projects have been shortlisted in New Zealand’s leading architecture awards programme.

The finalists in the New Zealand Architecture Awards are located at sites around the country, from the Bay of Islands to Central Otago, and range from new houses to schools, churches and office buildings.

Twenty-one of the shortlisted projects are in or around Auckland, eight are in Christchurch and seven in Wellington. (Scroll down for image gallery.)

Housing is the strongest category in the Awards, with 17 finalists. There are seven finalists in both the public architecture and commercial architecture categories, five in the heritage category and four in the education category. Three of the finalists are architecture practices’ own offices. 
The convenor of the Awards jury, Arrowtown architect Louise Wright, said the relatively high number of shortlisted projects was testament to a strong year in New Zealand architecture.

“The range and quality of recent architecture projects made it difficult to decide what to leave off the shortlist,” said Wright. She and fellow jury members, Auckland architects Lance Herbst and Jack McKinney and Australian architect Kerry Clare, will visit all of the shortlisted projects later this month.

“Auckland architecture is evidently booming and it’s good to see a stream of strong projects emerging in Christchurch,” Wright said. “The jury is also pleased that there are strong award contenders in the public architecture category.”

The winners of this year’s New Zealand Architecture Awards will be announced in Auckland on 10 November.

Buildings in the categories of housing, commercial, education and public architecture will be considered for signature awards named for four influential New Zealand architects: Sir Ian Athfield, Sir Miles Warren, Ted McCoy and John Scott.

2017 New Zealand Architecture Awards – shortlist by category


South Bloc, Hamilton by Edwards White Architects
Kauri Timber Building, Auckland by Fearon Hay Architects
SGA Studio and Workshops, Auckland by SGA – Strachan Group Architects
133 Molesworth Street, Wellington by Studio of Pacific Architecture 
Wellington International Airport Limited Terminal South Extension by Warren and Mahoney Architects 
Quad 7, Auckland by Warren and Mahoney Architects 
Mason Bros., Auckland by Warren and Mahoney Architects


WelTec School of Construction, Wellington by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott
AUT Mana Hauora (MH) Building, Auckland by Jasmax
New Law & Management Building, University of Waikato, Hamilton by Opus Architecture 
Tarawera High School, Kawerau, RTA Studio

Enduring Architecture 

151 Queen Street (1992), Auckland by Peddle Thorp Aitken
18 Butler Street (1987), Christchurch by Maurice Mahoney Architect
St Patrick's College Chapel, Silverstream (1977), Upper Hutt by William Pearson Architect


Hutt City Council Administration Building Refurbishment by architecture+
Australis Nathan, Auckland by Peddle Thorp
The Suter Art Gallery – Te Aratoi o Whakatū, Nelson by Warren and Mahoney Architects, Jerram Tocker Barron Architects and Ian Bowman Architect and Conservator 
Christchurch Arts Centre Clock Tower & Great Hall by Warren and Mahoney Architects
The Christchurch Club by Warren and Mahoney Architects

Hospitality and retail

The Kinloch Club, Kinloch by Patterson Associates


Pukapuka Rd House, Mahurangi by Belinda George Architects
Hamilton Family Home, Arrowtown by Bull O’Sullivan Architecture
Town House, Cambridge by Christopher Beer Architect
Forest House, Auckland by Fearon Hay Architects
Inland House, Mangawhai by Gerrad Hall Architects
Matakana House by Glamuzina Architects and Paterson Architecture Collective in association
Point Chevalier House, Auckland by Guy Tarrant Architects
Davis House, Auckland by Mercer and Mercer Architects
Point Wells Gables by Paterson Architecture Collective, Steven Lloyd Architecture and Glamuzina Architects in association
Fendalton Road House, Christchurch by Patterson Associates
Paoneone, Bay of Islands by Patterson Associates
339, Auckland by SGA – Strachan Group Architects
Millbrook House, Arrowtown by Sumich Chaplin Architects

Housing – Alterations and Additions

Herne Bay House Alteration, Auckland by Gerrad Hall Architects
Bach with Two Roofs, Golden Bay by Irving Smith Architects

Housing – Multi Unit 

Kāinga Tuatahi, Auckland by Stevens Lawson Architects
Verto Apartments, Auckland by Warren and Mahoney Architects

Interior Architecture 

Faraday Street Studio, Auckland by Fearon Hay Architects
Diver Apartment, Christchurch by MAP (2016)
Peddle Thorp, Auckland by Peddle Thorp

Planning & Urban Design

Mackelvie Precinct, Auckland by RTA Studio
BNZ Centre, Christchurch by Sheppard & Rout Architects

Public Architecture

Lesieli Tonga Auditorium, Auckland by Bull O’Sullivan Architecture
Christchurch North Methodist Church by Dalman Architects
Bishop Selwyn Chapel, Auckland by Fearon Hay Architects
Bullets & Balls (Nelson Cricket and Nelson Rifle Associations Practice Facility) by Irving Smith Architects
St John’s Church, Hamilton by MOAA Architects
ASB Waterfront Theatre, Auckland by Moller Architects and BVN in association
Te Wharehou o Waikaremoana, Lake Waikaremoana by Tennent+Brown Architects

Small Project Architecture

h01 house, Christchurch by Maguire and Harford Architects
Waiheke Gateway Pavilion by Stevens Lawson Architects