Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects











Winners of 2021 Western Architecture Awards announced

14 May 2021

A modest home with spectacular views of Mt Taranaki, a community centre in Bulls and an airport cafe were among the winners at a ceremony held in New Plymouth on 14 May.

A modest, secluded home with spectacular views of both Mt Taranaki and one of the country’s most famous surf breaks; Whanganui’s historic Ridgway Chambers; a Massey University food science facility; and the New Plymouth Airport have all taken out awards at the Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects’ 2021 Western awards, held at New Plymouth’s Len Lye Centre.

Boon, a 47-year-old New Plymouth practice, took home three of the peer-reviewed awards, as did 8-year-old New Plymouth practice Gibbons Architects.

Three enduring architecture awards were also presented - to the 1984 Eddie Belchambers-designed Officers Barracks and Mess building at Waiouru Military Camp; to David Taylor’s modernist Te Manawa O Te Papaioea Manawatu Art Gallery (1977); and to John Scott’s Te Rau O Te Aroha – Māori Battalion Hall, which was built in 1964 to remember the soldiers of the 28th Māori Battalion who died in the Second World War.

“This year, the Western Branch jury members were treated to a wide range of thoughtful, well resolved and beautifully built projects demonstrating the best work across the region,” jury convenor Darren Shadbolt, of ArchitypeTeam Architects said.

“Sustainability, connection to the landscape, local history and culture were prominent themes evident in many of the projects. The breadth and depth of client engagement with their architect was always a key factor in producing successful works with the ability of the architect and project team to achieve the client’s vision clearly evident.

“Many of the clients effused about the collaboration process, their journey and ultimately, their enjoyment of realising their vision. In all cases, each project demonstrates what is possible when client and designer work together to achieve beyond the norm and say: ‘We want to do more.’

The projects are physical statements of possibility and achievement and as such, the jury and Branch are grateful of being able to experience each project with them,” Shadbolt said. 

The Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects’ 2021 Western awards awards celebrate the best new architecture in the Taranaki, Whanganui and Manawatu regions and are part of a peer-reviewed awards programme across eight regions run by the Institute in association with Resene and APL.

The winners:


  • Te Ohu Rangahau Kai – Joint food science facility by Warren and Mahoney Architects and Lab-works Architecture in association. 


  • Ridgway Chambers by Drawing Room Architecture & Design. 


  • Airspresso by Gibbons Architects. 


  • Stewart Residence by 242am Architects. 
  • Twigley Bach by Boon. 
  • Small Town House by Felicity Wallace Architects. 

Housing - Alterations & Additions

  • Whareora by Gibbons Architects. 

Interior Architecture

  • Mahi Tahi by Boon. Photos: Sandra Henderson

Public Architecture

  • Te Matapihi - Bulls Community Centre by Architecture Workshop. 
  • Our Lady Help Of Christians Church Foyer by Ardern Peters Architects. 
  • Te Hono – New Plymouth Airport Terminal by Beca Architects. 

Enduring Architecture

  • New Zealand Defence Force Waiouru – Officers Barracks and Mess (1984) by Belchambers, Low & Associates. 
  • Te Manawa Te Papaioea (1977) by David Taylor - Architect. 
  • Te Rau O Te Aroha – Māori Battalion Hall (1964) by John Scott - Architect.