Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects










2022 Auckland Architecture Awards shortlist

08 April 2022

Sixty-three projects have been shortlisted in the 2022 Auckland Architecture Awards.

The shortlisted projects were selected from entries in the awards programme of the Auckland branch of Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects.

The shortlist was compiled by a jury led by Belinda George (Belinda George Architects) and rounded out by Rachel Dodd (Arthouse Architects), Neil Martin (Evatt Martin Architects), and Dr Andrew Douglas (a Senior Lecturer in Theory & Design at the University of Auckland School of Architecture and Planning.)

The winners will be announced on 19 July 2022.

See below for images of the shortlisted projects, which are:

Commercial Architecture
Te Aukati by FORMIS
Precinct C Warehouse by JWA Architects
Beach Hotel by Paul Brown & Associates
The Pacifica by Plus Architecture
Alexandra Park Precinct ‘Vertical Village’ by RTA Studio and DJRD (Sydney) in association
10 Madden by Warren and Mahoney Architects

Paerata School by ASC Architects
Tamaoho School by ASC Architects
Tūrama, Kristin School Sports Hall, Albany by Collingridge and Smith Architects
Meadowbank School New Reception Building by GHDWoodhead creativespaces
Manurewa High School Business Hub by RTA Studio
Diocesan Arts Centre by Upton Architects and McIldowie Partners in association

Cowes Police Station and Oyster Inspector’s House Restoration by Salmond Reed Architects

Park Hyatt Hotel Auckland by Bossley Architects and a r + d in association
Tosca by Bureaux
QT Hotel, Auckland by Jasmax and Nic Graham & Associates in association
Alma by Jack McKinney Architects

Clifftops House by Bossley Architects
Mahuika by Daniel Marshall Architect
Regina Street by Dorrington Atcheson Architects
Dowie Rose House by Dowie Architects
Coxs Bay House by Guy Tarrant Architects
Hobson Bay by Hamish Cameron Architect
Rangiputa Bach by Herbst Architects
Matapouri Beach House by Herbst Architects
Eastern Beach House by Matt Brew Architect
Crinkle Cut House by Pac Studio and Steven Lloyd Architecture
Lower Saddle Passive House by Respond Architects
Fale Marker by RTA Studio
Matapouri Beach House by RTA Studio
Brick House by Sayes Studio
Murrays Bay House by Scarlet Architects
The Dart by Studio John Irving
Glider by Studio John Irving
Sandiland by Studio John Irving

Housing—Alterations & Additions
Fife House by Bossley Architects
Sandringham House by Bureaux
Town House by Guy Tarrant Architects
Under Ivy by Jack McKinney Architects
Tight & Light by Lloyd Hartley Architects
Split House by Pac Studio

Housing—Multi Unit
Kōtuitui Terraces by Crosson Architects
Point & Miller by Paul Brown & Associates
Sunderland Terrace by Stevens Lawson Architects
30 Madden by Studio of Pacific Architecture
Kōtukutuku Kāinga by TOA Architects

Interior Architecture
Mission Bay Apartment by Hamish Cameron Architect
MC Workplace Fit-Out by Jasmax
AUT Te Āhuru Recreation Centre (City Campus) by Jasmax
Rosenfeld Kidson Papakura Office by SGA—Strachan Group Architects
Colliers Head Office by Warren and Mahoney Architects
Buddle Findlay by Warren and Mahoney Architects
AVNU by Wingate Architects

Planning & Urban Design
Te Wānanga by Isthmus Group

Public Architecture
Te Ngau o Horotiu — Ferry Berthing Facility by Isthmus Group
Puhinui Station Interchange by Jasmax
Te Tari Hapori — Community Hub Laingholm Baptist Church by SGA—Strachan Group Architects
Auckland City Mission — HomeGround by Stevens Lawson Architects

Small Project Architecture
Fitasfeck by Bull O’Sullivan Architecture
Hunua Views Pump Station by Construkt Associates
Shortland & Fort Commercial Lobby by CPRW
Maungawhau Tihi Boardwalk by Isthmus Group and Stellar Projects in association
Heron House by Pac Studio
The Tent by Studio John Irving