Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects










2022 Waikato & Bay of Plenty Architecture Awards shortlist

06 April 2022

Twenty-three projects have been shortlisted in the 2022 Waikato & Bay of Plenty Architecture Awards.

The shortlisted projects were selected from entries in the awards programme of the Waikato & Bay of Plenty Branch of Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects.

The shortlist was compiled by a jury led by convenor Paul Raven (Stephenson & Turner,) and rounded out with Adam Mercer (Mercer & Mercer Architects.) Rachel Parker (Kosloff Architecture,) architecture graduate Beatriz Egan (PAUA Architects) and lay juror Kathy Johnstone.

The winners will be announced on 3 August 2022. 

See below for images of the shortlisted projects, which are:

Commercial Architecture
Tristram Precinct by Edwards White Architects
Profile Group Hautapu Facility by Jasmax

Te Puna Kindergarten by MOD ARCHITECTURE

View Point by Architecture Bureau
Park Vue by Brendon Gordon Architects
Number 22 by Brendon Gordon Architects
Aigéan, Opito Bay by Bull O'Sullivan Architecture
Waterhouse Family Home by Bull O'Sullivan Architecture
MV House by Cate Creemers
Lake Rotoiti Bach by DCA Architects of Transformation
Twin Aspects by Edwards White Architects
Sisters Sanctuary by Edwards White Architects
Fillmore House by Evelyn McNamara Architecture
Acacia Bay Gables House by Fraser Cameron Architects
Casper's House by Glamuzina Architects and Dessein Parke in association
Waimataruru by Pac Studio and Kristina Pickford Design in association Pumpkin Hill by Space Division

Housing - Multi Unit
Selwyn Street Student Living by Warren and Mahoney Architects

Interior Architecture
EWA Studio by Edwards White Architects

Public Architecture
St Johns Church by DCA Architects of Transformation
Papamoa Surf Lifesaving Club by Jigsaw Architects

Small Project Architecture
Te Whare Mauri ō Tānewhirinaki – The Living Essence of Tānewhirinaki by Anthony Hoete
Craters of the Moon Observation Shelter by Fraser Cameron Architects