Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects











2023 Western Architecture Awards winners

16 June 2023

A classroom shaped like a kina, a stylish university lab encased in glass, and a renowned part of New Zealand’s architectural history have taken out top honours at the Western Architecture Awards.

Nine architecture projects from the region, which covers the North Island from New Plymouth to Palmerston North, were named winners. They were chosen from 14 shortlisted projects across six categories. Two projects also received a Resene Colour Award.

“What was achieved here has set a benchmark across commercial, education and residential categories,” says jury convenor and architect Thanh Nguyen. “The level of details and consideration that have gone into the design responses in these projects — the functional details, the construction details — is impressive. All of them really considered the context that they sit in, whether that was surrounding buildings, landform or urban context, and we were delighted by the level of passion put into the projects across the board.”

Ardern Peters Architects’ four-classroom block at Puketapu School, a building that features steep pitched roof forms and traditional marae typologies, was a winner in the Education category, as was Green School’s kina-shaped classroom and community building on a 60-hectare farm. Created by Boon, the innovative structure incorporates neuro-architecture (features designed to enhance cognitive function and emotional wellbeing) and provides a wall-less environment for learning.

Tapuae House by Gibbons Architects, a stunning coastal home with a sheltered courtyard, pool and decks, won in the Housing category. Kanuka Drive Home, a modern Palmerston North home by Hyndman Taylor Architects was recognised in the same category.

Two important buildings that add to the cultural and architectural fabric of the Western region received awards in the Public Architecture category: Whanganui Mumu – Whanganui By Design, a museum by Dalgleish Architects; and Renal Unit – Taranaki Base Hospital by Warren and Mahoney Architects.

Full list of Western Architecture Award winners:

Commercial Architecture
• Higgins Family Holdings Head Office by Novak+Middleton

• Puketapu School Roll Growth Classrooms by Ardern Peters Architects
• Green School New Zealand Kina by Boon
• Tāwharau Ora – School of Veterinary Sciences by Lab-works Architecture and CCM Architects in association

Enduring Architecture
• Chateau Tongariro Hotel (1929) by Hall & Marchant, Architect Herbert W. Hall

• Tapuae House by Gibbons Architects
• Kanuka Drive Home by Hyndman Taylor Architects

Public Architecture
• Whanganui Mumu - Whanganui By Design by Dalgleish Architects
• Renal Unit – Taranaki Base Hospital by Warren and Mahoney Architects

Resene Colour Award Winners
• Kanuka Drive Home by Hyndman Taylor Architects
• Whanganui Mumu – Whanganui By Design by Dalgleish Architects

The 2023 Western Architecture Awards jurors were:
• Thanh Nguyen of Beca Architects, jury convenor
• Ian Pritchard of Architects Ian Pritchard
• Belinda Tuohy of architecture+
• Sally McDonald, interior designer

See photo galleries and read more about these projects on our Local Awards page.