Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects











2024 Auckland Architecture Awards shortlist

20 March 2024

Sixty projects have been shortlisted in the 2024 Auckland Architecture Awards.

The shortlisted projects were selected from entries in the awards programme of the Auckland Branch of Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects.

The shortlist was compiled by a jury led by Wendy Shacklock of Wendy Shacklock Architects and rounded out by Nick Barratt-Boyes (Studio of Pacific Architecture), Gabrielle Luong (Malcolm Walker Architects), Professor Anthony Hoete (University of Auckland), and lay juror Bridget Gilbert.

The winners will be announced on Wednesday 15 May. 

Book now.

Commercial Architecture

1050 Remuera Road by Bureaux

Kā Uri, Awanui by Glamuzina Architects

Tāwharau Lane Development by JWA Architects

Tidal Road Development by JWA Architects

Hawaikirangi by RCG and Studio Pasifika

New Bricks on the Block by RTA Studio

The Suites by Studio John Irving and JWA Architects in association

Te Iwitahi - Whangarei Civic Centre by TEAM Architects Auckland

Deloitte Centre - Te Kaha by Warren and Mahoney Architects

HB Central by Warren and Mahoney Architects



Massey Innovation Complex by Athfield Architects

Bear Park Early Learning Centre, Hobsonville by Dave Pearson Architects

Ngākōroa School by Jasmax

University of Auckland B201 Building by Jasmax

Onehunga Primary School by Jasmax



Auckland Domain Wintergarden Restoration and Seismic Upgrade by Salmond Reed Architects



Ric's by Studio John Irving



Ōwairaka House by Athfield Architects

Leigh Road Home by Belinda George Architects

Huruhi by Bossley Architects

Shapeshifter by Crosson Architects

Waimana Estate by Glamuzina Architects

Dorset House by Guy Tarrant Architects

Jewel Box by Guy Tarrant Architects

Daniels reef lookout by Matter

Parirau by Megan Edwards Architects

Glider by Studio John Irving

Courtyard House by Studio John Irving

Bird/Seed house by Vaughn McQuarrie


Housing - Alterations & Additions

Earth House by Adele McNab Architects

Second Ave Extension by Glamuzina Architects

McGuigan Residence by JWA Architects

Ridge House by Keshaw McArthur

Tizard by Monk MacKenzie

Kororā Retreat by SGA - Strachan Group Architects

Boom Box by Space Division

Little Shoal Bay by Studio John Irving


Housing - Multi Unit

Kōtuitui Terraces by Crosson Architects

Boathouse Bay by Crosson Architects

Edition by Monk MacKenzie

The Foundation - Nathan Residences by Peddle Thorp

The Ōwairaka Collection by Stevens Lawson Architects

Kotare Rise by X Studio Architects


Interior Architecture

The Diamond Shop by Crosson Architects

TSA Auckland Office by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott

Te Arikinui Pullman Auckland Airport Hotel by Warren and Mahoney Architects

Te Tihi – Aurecon Auckland by Warren and Mahoney Architects

Precinct Properties Workplace by Warren and Mahoney Architects

Greenwood Roche by Wingate Architects

Anthony Harper by Wingate Architects


Planning & Urban Design

Puriri Park Road by Architectus

Hayman Park Playground: Playtower & Kiosk by Athfield Architects and Wraight + Associates (Wā)

1050 Remuera by Bureaux

Tāmaki Employment Precinct Masterplan by Isthmus Group

Te Mātāwai by MODE


Public Architecture

Kaipātiki Eco Hub by Athfield Architects


Small Project Architecture

Paper House by Crosson Architects

The Boat House by Michael Cooper Architects

Common Space Studio by Pac Studio

Hovering Prism by W3