Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects











2024 Canterbury Architecture Awards shortlist

19 March 2024

Thirty-four projects have been shortlisted in the 2024 Canterbury Architecture Awards.

The shortlisted projects were selected from entries in the awards programme of the Canterbury Branch of Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects.

The shortlist was compiled by a jury led by Maria Chen of Athfield Architects and rounded out by Nicholas Stevens (Stevens Lawson Architects), Vanessa Carswell (Jasmax), graduate Sarah Burns, and lay juror Adrian Taylor.

The winners will be announced on Thursday 09 May.

Book now.

Commercial Architecture

Tuhiraki - AgResearch Lincoln Facility by Architectus and Lab-works Architecture

Studio Dental by Fabric

Selwyn Health Hub by IKON Architects

Redcliffs Medical Centre by Johnstone Callaghan Architects

Consular Office of Japan in Christchurch by Sheppard & Rout Architects



The Wilderness Early Learning Centre by IKON Architects

Marian College by Sheppard & Rout Architects

Waimarie – Lincoln University Science Facility by Warren and Mahoney Architects and Lab-works Architecture in association

Middleton Grange School - Library Refurbishment by WSP Architecture



Medbury School - Ballantyne House by Sheppard & Rout Architects

Lawrie Wilson Building by Wilson & Hill Architects



Akin by Johnstone Callaghan Architects



Pavillion House by Borrmeister Architects

One One Two by Common

Bunker House by Dalman Architects

Garden House by Johnstone Callaghan Architects

Textured Bach by Nic Owen Architects

Huis Kikstra by PRau

Sumner House by RTA Studio

Sunrise Lane House by Sheppard & Rout Architects

Poynder Avenue House by Sheppard & Rout Architects


Housing - Alterations & Additions

Villa1899 by Borrmeister Architects

Lucking House by Common

Repton Street by PRau

Cox Street Alterations by Sheppard & Rout Architects


Housing - Multi Unit

219 Riccarton Road by Architectus

Upper House by Common

Seven Colourful Little Houses by Common

Ōtautahi Community Housing Trust by South by Southeast

Chiaroscuro by Three Sixty Architecture


Interior Architecture

Simple Machines by Three Sixty Architecture


Planning & Urban Design

Timaru CityTown Regeneration Strategy by Isthmus Group and Gap Filler in association


Public Architecture

Papa Hou by Architectus


Small Project Architecture

The Arts Centre Bridge by Warren and Mahoney Architects