Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects











2024 Southern Architecture Awards Winners Announced

17 May 2024

Twenty-three architecture projects, covering the region from Queenstown to Invercargill, were recognised in the 2024 Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects Southern Awards.

The winning projects include the first certified Passive House Plus workspace in Aotearoa, a dramatic transformation of a heritage property into a hospitality hub, and eight beautiful new homes. 

Dunlop Hub, a commercial building that houses Dunlop Builders in Wānaka, won in the Commercial category. Thanks to its Passive House Plus design, masterminded by Pac Studio and Steven Lloyd Architecture, the workspace “leads by example, a place where clientele can see and experience the company’s sustainability ambitions”, the jury says.  

Ayrburn, a hospitality precinct by SA Studio, won in both Heritage and Hospitality categories for its top-to-toe strengthening, restoration and transformation of derelict farm buildings into a sophisticated dining destination.  

This year’s Housing category celebrated 8 projects that are inspired in their architectural planning and execution. Six projects won Resene Colour Awards: Verdant House, Intus by Parker Warburton Team Architects, Jasmax’s University of Otago Te Rangihīroa, Ayrburn, Wānaka S.K.I House, and Roost Arrowtown. 

“We toured 31 shortlisted projects from Invercargill, Dunedin, Alexandra, Wanaka, Arrowtown and Queenstown, and we were inspired by the dedication and knowledge displayed by the architects. Many projects paid homage to the history of their site and produced buildings that were a privilege to tour,” says jury convenor Eliška Lewis, who was joined on the jury by Guy Marriage of First Light Studio, Erin Taylor of Hyndman Taylor Architecture and architect Gary Todd.  

View all the winners and read citations here.


Commercial Architecture

Roost Arrowtown by Assembly Architects and Spirus Architecture (Maurice Orr architect) in association  

Dunlop Hub by Pac Studio and Steven Lloyd Architecture in association 

Invercargill Central by The Buchan Group 



Columba College Boarding Village by Parker Warburton Team Architects 


Enduring Architecture

Mason & Wales Architects Office Building (1973) by Mason & Wales Architects  



Ayrburn by SA Studio 

Dunedin Railway Station Restoration by Salmond Reed Architects 



The Fork and Tap by Mary Jowett Architects  

Ayrburn by SA Studio   



Vineyard House by Anna-Marie Chin Architects 

Alexandra Rock House by Anna-Marie Chin Architects 

Our house by Assembly Architects  

Grendon Street Residence by McCoy and Wixon Architects 

Roys Peak Farmhouse by Rafe Maclean Architects 

Wānaka S.K.I House by Roberts Gray Architects  

Quarry Hill House by Sheppard & Rout Architects  

Park House by Studio of Pacific Architecture  


Housing—Multi Unit  

University of Otago Te Rangihīroa by Jasmax  

Marina Terrace Apartments by Mason & Wales Architects  


Interior Architecture  

Forsyth Barr Dunedin Office Fitout by McAuliffe Stevens  

Verdant House by Pac Studio and Steven Lloyd Architecture in association 

Intus by Parker Warburton Team Architects   


Public Architecture  

Te Puna o Whakaehu by McCoy and Wixon Architects and Maguire and Harford Architects in association