Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects











2024 Wellington Architecture Awards shortlist

22 March 2024

Thirty-six projects projects have been shortlisted in the 2024 Wellington Architecture Awards.

The shortlisted projects were selected from entries in the awards programme of the Wellington Branch of Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects.

The shortlist was compiled by a jury led by Mary Daish (Mary Daish Architect) and rounded out by Natasha Markham (MAUD), Stephanie Gardner (HMOA), and Beth Cameron (Makers of Architecture).

The winners will be announced on Thursday 23 May.

Book now.

Commercial Architecture

Imperial Park by Bonnifait + Associates Architects

Te Kairanga Winery by C Nott Architects

BNZ Place by Jasmax

40 & 44 Bowen Street by Tennent Brown Architects



Pā Reo Campus by Tennent Brown Architects



Erskine Chapel by Common and archifact-architecture & conservation

Weir House Refurbishment by Studio of Pacific Architecture

Te Horo Kilns: Station Building Restoration and Site Works by WSP Architecture



Willis Lane by Tennent Brown Architects and Izzard Design in association



Waikanae Beach House by Andrew Sexton Architecture

Houghton Bay by Energy Architecture and Studio8 Architecture

Pukatea Beach House by First Light Studio and FLiP Homes

Riversdale Beach House by Parsonson Architects

Sar Street House by Parsonson Architects

Raroa House by Patchwork Architecture

Houghton Bay House by Patchwork Architecture

Eastbourne House by Stevens Lawson Architects


Housing - Alterations & Additions

B House by a.k.a Architecture

Wadestown House by Andrew Sexton Architecture

House Jackson by Studio MYLA


Housing - Multi Unit

Te Kī a Alasdair – The voice of Alasdair by Archaus

ARO Living townhouses by architecture +

Norfolk Terraces by Sheppard & Rout Architects

Oxford Terrace by Solari Architects


Interior Architecture

Te Kāhui Tiki Tangata - Human Rights Commission by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott

Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency National Premises by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott

KPMG Wellington by Warren and Mahoney Architects

Wellington Train Control Upgrade Project (WTCUP) by WSP Architecture


Planning & Urban Design

Te Āhuru Mōwai Vision Framework by Isthmus Group


Public Architecture

Wellington Zoo Snow Leopards Enclosure by Architecture Workshop

Toi MAHARA by Athfield Architects

Tākina – Wellington Convention & Exhibition Centre by Studio of Pacific Architecture

Te Whare Hapori o Ngā Puna Waiora / Newtown Community Centre by WSP Architecture


Small Project Architecture

Austin Pavilion by a.k.a Architecture

Karaka Tower by Arête Architects

St Hilda’s Church Renovation by First Light Studio