Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects











2024 Wellington Architecture Awards winners

23 May 2024

A home for snow leopards, inner-city public housing complete with in-house support services, and three tiny projects are among the winners in the Wellington region’s Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects Awards.

Twenty-seven outstanding projects took home awards at an event held at the St James Theatre on May 23. The Commercial, Education and Public Architecture winners run the gamut, from a revamp of Te Horo train station to Architecture Workshop’s Snow Leopards’ Enclosure at Wellington Zoo, which includes dens, sunny perching areas and an outdoor space for the big cats.

Pāe Reo Campus, an addition to the Wānanga in Ōtaki by Tennent Brown Architects, was lauded for being a certified Living Building. It shows “how the architectural process can be an advocacy tool for buildings that operate as cleanly, beautifully and efficiently as nature’s architecture”, says the awards’ jury. 

St Hilda’s Church Renovation by First Light Studio was awarded a Small Project Architecture award for its imaginative solution to earthquake strengthening. The new façade, a perforated screen, “has become a compelling urban feature that the wider community can enjoy”, says jury convenor, architect Mary Daish.

“These new buildings have brought elegant forms to streets, responded to the site and context, created new pedestrian experiences and connections, referenced the existing urban fabric, and made connections to the natural landscape too,” Daish adds.

There were 20 entries in the Housing category this year, with six being named winners, as well as two in the Housing—Alterations & Additions category. Oxford Terrace by Solari Architects was the sole winner in the Housing—Multi Unit category for its “highly empathetic design response – a heart-warming example of a community housing project,” says the jury. 

The panel of judges also included Natasha Markham of MAUD, Stephanie Gardner of HMOA, and Beth Cameron of Makers of Architecture.


View all the winners and read citations here.


Commercial Architecture

BNZ Place by Jasmax

40 & 44 Bowen Street by Tennent Brown Architects



Pā Reo Campus by Tennent Brown Architects


Enduring Architecture

City Gallery Wellington | Te Whare Toi (1992-1993 by Gardyne Architecture (now architecture+) with Wellington City Council



Erskine Chapel by Common and archifact-architecture & conservation

Te Horo Kilns: Station Building Restoration and Site Works by WSP Architecture



Waikanae Beach House by Andrew Sexton Architecture

Pukatea Beach House by First Light Studio and FLiP Homes

Riversdale Beach House by Parsonson Architects

Sar Street House by Parsonson Architects

Raroa House by Patchwork Architecture

Houghton Bay House by Patchwork Architecture


Housing—Alterations & Additions

B House by a.k.a Architecture

Wadestown House by Andrew Sexton Architecture


Housing—Multi Unit

Oxford Terrace by Solari Architects


Interior Architecture

Te Kāhui Tiki Tangata — Human Rights Commission by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott

Waka Kotahi NZ Transport Agency National Premises by Designgroup Stapleton Elliott

KPMG Wellington by Warren and Mahoney Architects

Wellington Train Control Upgrade Project by WSP Architecture


Planning & Urban Design

Te Āhuru Mōwai Vision Framework by Isthmus Group

Willis Lane by Tennent Brown Architects and Izzard Design in association


Public Architecture

Wellington Zoo Snow Leopards Enclosure by Architecture Workshop

Toi MAHARA by Athfield Architects

Tākina — Wellington Convention & Exhibition Centre by Studio of Pacific Architecture


Small Project Architecture

Austin Pavilion by a.k.a Architecture

Karaka Tower by Arête Architects

St Hilda’s Church Renovation by First Light Studio