Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects











2024 Western Architecture Awards shortlist

25 March 2024

Thirteen projects have been shortlisted in the 2024 Western Architecture Awards.

The shortlisted projects were selected from entries in the awards programme of the Western Branch of Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects.

The shortlist was compiled by a jury led by Monika Puri of 242 Architects and rounded out by Nick Strachan (Athfield Architects), Heather Hocken (WSP), and lay juror Tyson Schmidt.

The winners will be announced on Friday 24 May.

Book now.


Baring Terrace House by Boon

Cracroft House by Dalgleish Architects

Gonville Pool House by Patchwork Architecture


Housing - Multi Unit

321 Victoria Avenue Whanganui by Architecture Workshop and Chow:Hill Architects in association

Adesanya Close by Houston Architects NZ

Mabel Central housing, Levin by Wright & Gray Architects


Interior Architecture

TSB Lending Hub by Boon


Public Architecture

Ko Tamawāhine by Boon

Ngā Awa Block by Copeland Associates Architects

He Awa Ora by Dalgleish Architects

Westmere Presbyterian Memorial Church: New Entry Building by Dalman Architects

Te Whare Hononga by Tennent Brown Architects


Small Project Architecture

Te Upoko o Te Whenua Marae Canopy by Boon