Share article


We notice you're trying to make a purchase from outside of New Zealand.
If you would like to place an order, please email full details to

Thank you,

New Zealand Institute of Architects









2020 Writing Awards: overview

In the 2020 Warren Trust Awards for Architectural Writing, entrants were asked to write about a building in their community, and why it had personal and social significance. Alternatively, with a nod to the confined circumstances we now find ourselves in, writers could discuss a building or a place they wanted to visit, one day.

Essays were entered in two categories, Secondary School and Open (that is, everyone else), and were judged by convenor Sally Conor, Communications Manager of Te Kāhui Whaihanga New Zealand Institute of Architects, Auckland writer Diana Wichtel and the former head of the Unitec School of Architecture, Tony van Raat.

Ten essays, including the two winning and three highly commended essays, are published annually in the ongoing series 10 stories: Writing About Architecture.

10 Stories About Architecture / 6 is available for purchase from our shop.

About the Awards

The Warren Trust Awards for Architectural Writing were established by Te Kāhui Whaihanga NZ Institute of Architects, with the support of the Warren Trust, in 2015. Their purpose is to encourage longer-form writing about, and an informed interest in, architecture. The annual competition has two sections: open, and secondary school students.

The Institute thanks all those writers who entered the competition, and encourages anyone interested in the craft of writing and the subject of architecture to enter the Awards in 2021.